WiFi Network How to Forget it on your MacBook Pro

WiFi Network connection annoying you?

Once a wifi network has been joined in OS X, the Mac will default to joining that network if it’s within range and available again. This is undeniably convenient for joining your home, work, and regular wireless networks, but it can be a nuisance when the Mac rejoins a network that you no longer want to connect to. While setting the wifi network priority is one option, another option is to have the Mac “forget” the network, preventing it from automatically rejoining again. This is particularly helpful if you live or work within an area that has open networks available that you do not accidentally want to join.

Removing a Wireless Router from the Preferred Networks List on your MacBook Pro. Forgetting a wifi network in Mac OS X is very easy, though the option is a bit more hidden than some users may expect. Fortunately, like the iOS counterpart, learn to drop a network once and you won’t have to wonder how to do it again in the future.

Removing a Wireless Router from the Preferred Networks List on your MacBook Pro.

This will forget the chosen wifi network(s), preventing the Mac from automatically joining it again when within range.

  1. Pull down the WiFi menu icon and choose “Open Network Preferences”, or go to the “Network” preference pane from  Apple menu and System Preferences.macbookpro_wireless-wifi-network-
  2. Select “WiFi” from the network panel sidebar, then click the “Advanced” button in the corneradvanced-network-preferences-macbookpro
  3. Go to the “WiFi” tab and find the router/network to forget under the “Preferred Networks” list
  4. Select the network and then choose the [-] minus button to remove (forget) the wireless networkremove-wifi-network-from-macbookpro
  5. Confirm to forget the wifi network by choosing “Remove”remove-wifi-router-macbookpro
  6. Repeat as necessary for other wifi networks to forget
  7. Click “OK”, then exit out of System Preferences, choose “Apply” if asked

Once a wireless network has been forgotten, your MacBook Pro will no longer join it automatically – even if it is the only network available.

If you change your mind, the forgotten network(s) can be re-joined or remembered again simply by choosing it from the wifi menu bar selection.